A better way to run investor meetings

Take a trial lawyer's approach to close more capital

Greetings, Chief Storytelling Officers.

Some final pushes for fundraising season are going on and if that’s you keep your foot on the gas. I just had a founder I coach close a big series b round and I hope that it motivates you to know that deals are getting done.

One quick note that next week I’m running a free workshop with my friend and investor Angel Gambino to help founders get ready to raise. In fact, that’s the name of the workshop. It’s two days to help you prepare your process, your strategy, and your story. Hope to see you there.

-Robbie

A different way to approach investors

Back when I was a criminal prosecutor I loved having conversations with my colleagues on the cases we were trying.

I’d walk into different offices, sit down on one of the old county chairs that desperately needed to be replaced, and start discussing the case. Sometimes they were quick 5 minute conversations and other times we’d get lost in them for hours.

It was verbal sparring. We’d switch sides mid argument and even bring in other prosecutors or investigators to liven up the debate.

I’d have ATF agents, DEA agents, Border Patrol agents, and so many other law enforcement personal giving their perspectives. We’d bring in psychologists, doctors, and PhDs to push us even further.

By the time I was in the courtroom to try the case there was nothing that I hadn’t already thought through and worked out.

It was something I’ll never forget.

Debating and discussing with smart people who pushed me to my limits made me come alive.

Recently, I’ve realised how similar that experience is to how founders should approach conversations with investors.

Too many times founders walk into a call with an investor and approach it like a sales pitch. It’s not.

Yes you should run a sales process but it’s not a sales pitch. That’s why it messes so many founders up.

In the meeting it needs to be a conversation. It should be a discussion and a debate. Treating it like an exercise in pressure testing your ideas will make the investor meeting far more successful.

As a founder you will speak differently when you believe in your idea and see it as a conversation between smart people instead of a sales pitch. When you’re “selling” it comes across desperate and needy. When you’re discussing it comes across confident and approachable. (This is exactly why we want you to have the perfect story you believe in to share with Potential AI).

One of the biggest things that helped me back in my legal career was a willingness to ask people for real feedback. When every single one of my 102 jury trials was over, I walked back to the jury and asked them one simple question.

“Be brutally honest with me, what did you hate that I did?”

I find the more you’re open to pushback the better you’re position will stand up.

When fundraising you need to play from a position of strength.

Embrace these conversations with investors and treat them as such. Be open to the tough feedback, it will make you stronger and more likeable. Most founders don’t want to hear anything negative. The ones who can and don’t get defensive stand out.

Two things to remember as you move forward.

Human conversations > Business conversations

Being yourself > Selling yourself.

Resources of the week

Interesting breakdown of the two types of investor mindsets from a six times Midas List investor.

***

A breakdown of the genius of Aaron Sorkin and how he hears the script. This is interesting because when I write stories for founders I hear musical beats to every word. That’s where the vocal delivery brings a story to life and this is a beautiful example to help that idea sink in.

***

Two ways to get help on your storytelling and fundraising

  1. Join Potential AI waitlist to get early access. At Potential AI we make it fast, easy, and affordable to build your fundraising story. That story includes your founder origin and startup vision stories. This way you can walk into any investor meeting and deliver the perfect 3 minute story that makes you undeniable.

  2. Apply to work with me 1 on 1 at Competitive Storytelling. This is for founders who have already raised at least a few million in capital and are preparing for their next round. Most often raises of 8m and up as this is high touch work where we are in the trenches together. The fee is in line with that type of support.